How to Get an MMJ Card in Oregon
Get in Contact with an Oregon Healthcare Provider
The good news is that MMJCardOnline can help connect you with a certifying medical provider in Oregon. From there, you must have an established doctor-patient relationship with a Doctor of Osteopathy or Medical Doctor Licensed in Oregon and attend your appointment or assessment in person. Generally speaking, many card providers only accept people who have visited their primary physician three or more times. If the doctor deems you eligible, you will receive an Attending Physician’s Statement (APS).
It is possible to get a personalized consultation for as low as $59, and considering Oregon’s MMJ card application is one of the most expensive in the US, this lower consultation fee helps to cut some costs.
Create Your Oregon State Government Account
In order to receive your Oregon medical marijuana card, you will need to create an Oregon state government account. You will also need to submit a valid and legal copy of a U.S. Federal or State issued photographic I.D. card. Your date of birth and full name must be includ. We will speak more about this in the next step.
Fill Out the Online Application
Next, fill out the online application by logging in and using the online application portal at the official website (same website address as above).
You will need to upload photos of the following documents as part of the online application:
- A valid state ID, Hawaiian driver’s license, or passport
- Your patient certification form
You have to apply to the Patient Registry to earn protection under Oregon’s marijuana rules. Please note that all documentation must be uploaded within 90 days of your application date. Otherwise, the entire process will need to be restarted.
Register with the Official Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
According to state law, OMMP is required to process your application within 30 days. Due to the program having fewer applications than in the past post-recreational legalization in Oregon, there should not be a backlog, but in some instances, it can take a bit longer than 30 days.
You can go to a dispensary if you have copies of all the materials you submitted to the Oregon state medical marijuana program. However, it may be best to wait until your Oregon MMJ card has been issued.
Head to Your Dispensary!
When your Oregon medical marijuana card has arrived in the post, it’s time to head to your dispensary of choice! Congratulations on getting your card. There are many dispensaries to choose from in Oregon, so you’ll have plenty of options.
MMJ Card Online Service Benefits
Medical Cannabis Registration
Digital Cannabis Certification
New Patients & Renewals Welcome
100% Money-Back Guarantee
24/7 Customer Service
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon
- A Step-by-Step Guide
- Check your eligibility
- Schedule and attend an appointment with a medical provider
- Create your government account
- Fill out the online application
- Pay the application fee
- Apply to the Patient Registry
- Register with the OMMP (Oregon Medical Marijuana Program)
- If approved, receive your card in the mail
- Visit the dispensary
Oregon Medical Marijuana Card Qualifying Conditions
Be sure to bring any medical documentation with you when visiting your physician.
If you do not have your medical records handy, you can obtain them by request from the hospital or physician where you received treatment.
The list of qualifying medical conditions in Oregon is quite long, but you could be eligible if you experience any of the following conditions:
Patient Qualifying Conditions
- Agitation due to Alzheimer’s disease
- Carpal tunnel syndrome
- Degenerative disk disease
Or if you have any medical conditions that result in the following:
- Seizure disorders
- Muscle spasms
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
The list of qualifying medical conditions is subject to change, so be sure to check with your physician for more information.
Next, we will outline how to renew your Oregon medical marijuana card and provide you with important information regarding caregiver rules.
Medical Marijuana Card Renewal in Oregon
It costs $200 when renewing your medical marijuana card in Oregon, in addition to a fee for another doctor’s consultation. The renewal process can begin 90 days prior to the expiration of your medical marijuana card.
You can renew either online or by mail. To renew online, make a new account or sign into an existing one and complete the required steps. If renewing by mail, send the completed application to:
Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP)
P.O. Box 14450,
The patient has to designate a specific person on their application to add a caregiver. Their state-issued I.D. or driver’s license must be copied and provided, along with their mailing address. Caregivers are allowed to pick up medical marijuana on your behalf (for you) from registered dispensaries.
According to Oregon law, caregivers must be 21+ and pass a background check. A caregiver is allowed to grow medical marijuana for you, however, if they have a felony conviction after January 1, 2006, they are banned from cultivating cannabis for medical marijuana patients for at least two years after their conviction. If a person has a second felony convictions, they are permanently banned from cultivating cannabis.
Oregon Medical Marijuana Laws and Rules
If you are 21+ in the state of Oregon, you are legallly allowed to possess up to two ounces of marijuana (even recreationally). But if you are not a medical marijuana card holder and get caught with over two ounces of cannabis, you could be placed in prison for up to 6 months under the charge of a misdemeanor.
This is why, for those who would like to possess over 2 ounces of cannabis, or who are between the ages of 18-20, a medical marijuana card is likely the way to go.
With a recreational card, you can only cultivate up to four plants on public property and out of sight. Medical marijuana card holders, however, can cultivate 6 mature plants and 12 immature plants 24 inches+. They are also permitted to grow a maximum of 36 immature plants shorter than 24 inches. OMMP cardholders can also possess up to 50 seeds.
For the most accurate and up-to-date information, visit the official Oregon health authority website:
FAQ About Getting an MMJ Card in Oregon
In Oregon, you can find just about every form of cannabis in official dispensaries. The state is well-known for its vast quantity and quality of cannabis production. Many dispensaries stock products such as dry flower, edibles, vape cartridges, wax, shatter, and more.
One of the major benefits of being a medical marijuana cardholder in Oregon is that medical marijuana patients can carry, buy, and cultivate more cannabis than recreational consumers in OR. Caregivers and patients are permitted the possession of the following amounts:
- 24 ounces of usable cannabis
- 16 ounces of a cannabinoid concentrate, sold in an inhalant delivery system or alone
- 72 fl. oz of liquid form medical cannabinoids
- 5 grams of extracts
Whilst there are few designated medical marijuana dispensaries in Oregon since the recreational legalization of cannabis in the state, there are many general dispensaries to choose from (over 750 in Oregon!). It is possible to find specialized MMJ dispensaries that are only permitted to sell to patients and caregivers registered with the OMMP, but options are limited. That’s why it’s often more convenient for Oregon MMJ cardholders to purchase medical marijuana from a general dispensary.
No. Cannabis is still a federally illegal substance under the Controlled Substances Act, and it is thus unlawful to travel across state lines with marijuana in your possession. Additionally, Oregon does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards as valid.
If the OMMP decides your application is complete, it will send you a receipt letter. This letter is legally akin to having a 30-day registry ID card and is valid for 30 days (past the date printed on your letter.) Once processed, you will receive the official card by post. The OMMP requests that applicants not check their status 30 days or more after the day the application is received. If your application is concluded as “incomplete,” the OMMP will explain the information you must receive in a mailed letter. You have 2 weeks (14 days) to provide this information, or your application may be rejected.
Users of MMJCardOnline have an extremely high approval rate. To increase your chances of success, please read the information in this guide before applying. In the unlikely event, you’re not approved, you will receive a full refund.
Oregon has one of the most expensive medical marijuana application fees, costing $200 to apply. If you are on Food Stamps, that amount drops down to $60, and if you receive the Oregon Health Plan, it drops down to $50. If you cultivate cannabis for another person, there’s a grow site registration fee of $200 as well, and this amount applies if you grow somewhere other than your home, grow 12+ plants, or if you are transferring surplus weed to a dispensary or processor.