5 Easy Steps: How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware
Register with MMJ Card Online
The first step to getting a Delaware medical marijuana card is to register right here with the trusted professionals at MMJ Card Online. The paperwork process of the application is complex and confusing, but our expert team takes care of every step of the application process with one small fee of $149 (not including the $50 state application fee). And if you’re not approved, don’t worry – we offer a 100% money back GUARANTEE.
Complete an Online Telemedicine Consultation
During your online telemedicine consultation, the physician will discuss current symptoms, medical history, and evaluate you to ensure you are a qualified patient under the Delaware Medical Cannabis Program. If qualified, the doctor will then register you with the state.
*Be advised that during your consultation, the physician may need to ask questions regarding your medical history. Online appointments with MMJ Card Online typically take 15-20 minutes, during which time you will discuss your medical condition(s) and outline why you believe MMJ will help.
Pay the State Application Fee
In addition to the $149 fee to consult with and have your application submitted by our team, you must pay a $50 application fee, which is mandatory and non-refundable. Bear in mind this is not part of our services, it is a required $50 application fee for anyone who applies for Delaware’s medical cannabis program.
Submit Your Application to the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program
Completed Delaware medical marijuana card applications must include an electronic copy of a valid government-issued photo ID, as well as accompanying paperwork filed online. One of the key benefits of applying through MMJ Card Online is that our network of licensed healthcare providers take care of this process for you. The cost for the consultation and evaluation is $149, in addition to a mandatory $50 state application fee, which the doctor will submit on your behalf.
Receive Your Delaware MMJ Card and Visit a Dispensary!
If approved, you should receive your Delaware medical marijuana card within 45 days of submitting your application, at which point you can visit any licensed dispensary in the state and legally purchase medical marijuana.
*Please note that you do not need to wait the full 45 days to visit a dispensary and start buying meds. Once your application is submitted, you can use a verification approval email as your temporary MMJ certification.
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Delaware
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card Qualifying Conditions
In Delaware, Senate Bill 17 made medical marijuana legal. However, you had to obtain a written certification from a physician who determined that you may “benefit from the therapeutic use of medicinal marijuana.”
These were the qualifying conditions for a DE medical marijuana card at the time:
Patient Qualifying Conditions
- Any terminal illness
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Decompensated cirrhosis
- Intractable nausea and seizures
- Conditions that cause severe pain
- Wasting syndrome
- Autism that causes aggressive or self-injurious behavior
- Chronic migraine
However, the passage of SB 24, which became law in September 2020, effectively eliminated qualifying conditions for adults and children. Healthcare professionals in Delaware can now use their judgment to recommend a MMJ card to a patient if they believe it will be a beneficial form of treatment. Furthermore, the bill also removed the requirement that medical marijuana be recommended only by specialists for pediatric patients.
Next, we will outline how to renew your Delaware medical marijuana card and provide you with important information regarding caregiver rules.
Medical Marijuana Card Renewal in Delaware
A Delaware medical marijuana card is valid for one year after it is issued. To renew, you must resubmit the complete application packet, i.e., the Physician Certification Form, the Medical Release Form, and the $50 renewal fee. You can apply for a renewal up to 90 days before your card expires.
You can appoint a designated caregiver to assist you with your medical marijuana needs. They must fill out a separate application, and they must meet the following requirements:
- Be aged 21 years old or older
- Have agreed to assist you in using marijuana for medical purposes
- They must not have a felony conviction
Those with a valid Delaware MMJ card can also act as a caregiver. Anyone wishing to be a caregiver must pay a non-refundable fee of $50. A background check is also performed, for which the caregiver must pay $65 in advance. Lastly, a caregiver can assist up to five patients in the state of Delaware.
History of Cannabis in Delaware
The original Delaware MMJ legislation was passed in May of 2011. Governor Jack Markell signed legislation allowing patients over the age of 18 who had a qualifying condition to possess up to 6 ounces of marijuana.
However, the state’s first MMJ clinic did not open until June 2015. Although efforts to fully legalize the substance have been unsuccessful, the state’s medical marijuana program has grown steadily in recent years.
While Delaware’s MMJ program has been a success, efforts to legalize recreational marijuana in The First State have ended in failure. For example, the Delaware General Assembly formally passed a bill on marijuana legalization implementation in May 2022. However, the bill was vetoed by the state’s governor, John Carney. The veto was upheld by the state House of Representatives the following month.
Eventually, though, Carney gave up his crusade and decided not to veto HB1, a bill to legalize recreational marijuana. Full legalization came into effect in April 2023. However, sales won’t begin until late 2024 at the earliest.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Laws and Rules
The state has decriminalized the possession of less than an ounce, so if you’re caught with a small amount of marijuana, you face a civil penalty charge and a possible $100 fine. Possession of more than one ounce but under 175 grams is a misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face a three-month prison sentence. More than 175 grams, and you’re facing a felony charge, and if convicted, a prison sentence of up to three years is possible.
Finally, be aware that the illegal cultivation or sale of marijuana in Delaware in any amount is a felony and you could face up to eight years in prison if convicted.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in Delaware?
Patients in Delaware can obtain MMJ in any form. Dry cannabis flower, pre-rolls, vapes, tinctures, and edibles are all examples of what you can get with a Delaware MMJ card.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy and Possess?
You can buy and possess up to three ounces of cannabis every 14 days if you have a valid Delaware MMJ card. This equates to six ounces per month.
Where can I Legally Purchase MMJ in Delaware?
For many years, only these three companies sold marijuana in Delaware: First State Compassion, Columbia Card, and Fresh Cannabis. The state has also granted licenses to the following businesses:
- CannaTech Research
- Valor Craft Cannabis Co.
However, only EzyCure has a dispensary, The Farm, in Felton. This brings the total number of Compassion Centers in Delaware to seven, with the others located in:
- Wilmington x 2
- Rehoboth Beach
All registered “Compassion Centers” in Delaware are required by law to operate on a non-profit basis. These facilities cannot provide you with more than three ounces of cannabis in 14 days. If you are a registered medical marijuana user in Delaware, you must choose and stick with one dispensary.
Can I Take my MMJ to a Different State?
No. Marijuana remains federally illegal under the Controlled Substances Act. It is thus unlawful to travel across state lines with marijuana in your possession.
FAQ About Getting an MMJ Card in Delaware
The Delaware Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program states that it will approve or deny a complete application for a medical marijuana card within 45 calendar days of receiving it.
Users of MMJCardOnline have an extremely high approval rate. To increase your chances of success, please read the information in this guide before applying. In the unlikely event, you're not approved, you will receive a full refund.
In Delaware, a medical marijuana card costs $50 and is valid for one year. The cost of a consultation with MMJCardOnline is $149. Please note that it costs $50 to renew your Delaware medical marijuana card.